"Chicken Wing" 101 please

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Rock2r

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
The only part left to purchase for my BP/W set up is a harness. I'm beating myself up over which one (Dive Rite) to get. Yesterday I'm thinking Transplate...a little more research, then today, "nope, simple Hog", then "nope, deluxe with QR on the shoulder".

As I am new to the harness scene, please explain the "Chicken Wing" many members associate with the simple Hog harness don and doff. Is it a quick learning curve?

The only part left to purchase for my BP/W set up is a harness. I'm beating myself up over which one (Dive Rite) to get. Yesterday I'm thinking Transplate...a little more research, then today, "nope, simple Hog", then "nope, deluxe with QR on the shoulder".

As I am new to the harness scene, please explain the "Chicken Wing" many members associate with the simple Hog harness don and doff. Is it a quick learning curve?

One would simply catch their upper D-rings underneath with their thumbs and spread outward to doff. The harness must not be adjusted too tightly in order to accomplish nor does one want a too loosely adjusted harness. Many big/wide shouldered divers have problems accomplishing otherwise it seems to be rather easy to master. You may wish to consider Halcyon's BP/Wings now that they have introduced their new cinch system. Check out Jarrod Jablonski manuver in and out of one.

Extreme Exposure - Home | Extreme Exposure