Buying used/new equipment on eBay/craigslist...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pwscottiv

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
So I'm just getting into SCUBA and I'm interested in buying some gear. Being a student, I really don't have enough money to pay retail prices unless I just buy the cheapest of everything on the market. I'd like to purchase most of my gear from eBay or Craigslist, as I'd like to buy high-quality stuff, but just at a lower price. What should I ask the sellers about the items I've listed below as far as their condition? And what do you think about the items I've chosen as far as overall quality when compared to everything else on the market? I do obviously plan on having a local dive shop check everything out. However, do you know if any of the items have a history of having any particular problems?

BCD: SeaQuest Black Diamond
Regulator: AquaLung Legend LX
Dive Computer: Suunto Cobra or Cobra2
Breathable Shoulder Inflator: Air Source II
Emergency air source: Spare Air 2.7L

Just check prices carefully

It's all quality stuff, but then most gear out there is pretty high quality - top of the line often means more features, not necessarily more quality. More features are good if you use them, if you don't it's just clutter that gets in the way. For regs top the line will likely breath easier but you may not be able to tell the difference from the mid range. It matters more that things are suitable for you.
- Do you know that BC will fit you well? That's about the most important thing to look for.