BP/W in warm water without wetsuit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nightwatch

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
HI all - be gentle I'm new :). I am researching options for my first BCD. Up to this point I've been renting, and I'd like to have something that is robust (long lasting), upgradeable/modular, and lightweight for travel. I am essentially a vacation diver - but I've been doing it for 8 -10 years or so. 50 or so dives, so I'm still a newbie in terms of # of dives.

I've read many positive accounts of switching from jacket BCDs to a BP/W configuration. However one question I still have is above the level of comfort wearing one without a wetsuit, or maybe at most a rash guard. I am nearly exclusively a warm weather diver, with the exception of an occasional cold'ish water dive (Greece for example). Are these backplates comfortable on the back against bare skin? I would assume I'd want some bouyancy neutral padding on the plate?

I think Im settled on aluminum for the plate, and then going with a lead pocket system. What would you say are the top 3 going BP/W combos for warm water diving? Going to Indonesia (raja Ampat) this winter and I want to get something and get some practice in with the new BCD style before I go.

I weigh 215 and I'm 6'1".

I dive my steel backplate in all conditions.

Cold quarries and tropical carribean. I find with the steel I only need 2 lbs lead in the ocean to fine tune trim.