Ankle dumps?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

OE2X

ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
I've been doing a lot of reading on this forum about different types of valves and their placement. I'm looking at ordering a custom drysuit so I can do any options.

Is it advisable to get dump valves placed just above the ankles on both feet?

Since I'm a newbie to diving dry, I'm curious if this is a reasonable safety option of if it's not needed.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Nope, not needed. Stay away from them.
It's really not that hard to keep yourself from floating to the surface feet first, it adds extra cost to the suit & there are 2 more places for a leak to start.
Persons that can't control themselves to the point of NEEDING ankle dumps should really stay in shallow water & practice, practice, practice 'till they get the suit control down.

overexposed2X:
I've been doing a lot of reading on this forum about different types of valves and their placement. I'm looking at ordering a custom drysuit so I can do any options.

Since I'm a newbie to diving dry, I'm curious if this is a reasonable safety option of if it's not needed.

Probably not (unless you will be diving in an upside down position). Best bet is to take a drysuit class and learn how to do a roll. If you have good trim and manage your air in suit properly they should not be needed.