Analog Gauges and you

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

skierbri10

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I was just wondering, I am a very techno geek and love gadgets and things. I am also a pilot and am used to living in the ice age in regards to guages and things. So I was wondering who still uses analog guages as thier primary information source for diving? I mean, I see the added safety and knowledge of computer/digital. I also see the added reliability and simplicity of analog. Coming up in the future when I do purchase my own equipment would it be better to start with analog to have it as a back up and learn the ropes and then purchase a computer. Or purchase the computer right away and start diving in this century? Personally, I like to have the reliabilty or analog but I love the features of digital.
Another idea I had was to first get analog and a nice dive watch that I have been eyeing and get a computer when finances allowed.

What do you think and please don't bee too biased.

Skier,
Just like flying . . . learn to use the old stuff. You NEVER KNOW when you'll need to fly needle, ball, airspeed, altitude and magnetic heading.

Being able to do that just makes GPS flying that much easier!

the Kraken-Rotor Head