Why not BP/W for Beginner?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Greendiver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
First off, I'm new to diving and new to this board so I'm still very green.

I am planning my dive gear purchases and without a large amount of disposable income I would like to be able to make the right equipment purchase the first go round. From what I have read, there is alot to be said for a BP/W setup. It appeals to me partly because of simplicity, and because I can see the benefits of being able to maintain a horizontal attitude. My experiences with a jacket style BC have resulted with me finning to remain close to level.

My long winded question is this, when checking out gear at my local LDS, I am steered towards a jacket style BC. Is there a reason why a beginner should choose to not use a BP/W?

Thanks for the information I've already picked up from lurking around for a while!

I can't think of any rational explanation for that.

Go for the BP/W!

And welcome to scubaboard! :D

<snip>
My long winded question is this, when checking out gear at my local LDS, I am steered towards a jacket style BC. <snip>

Does your LDS sell BP/Ws? :wink:

I was certified in a jacket-style BC and absolutely hated it. There was no doubt in my mind to buy a BP/W when I was ready to buy a BC. I did, and I love it! :)

I must say...

I very much agree with the two other post's.

Go and buy and learn with the gear you want.