Why do you do what you do?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jwelch_81

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am still a little new to diving. I understand why people get into tech diving. I would love to go wreck diving and have the skill to go deep if I needed to. What I can't figure out is why caves and deep air.

What do you see in caves?
Why do your deep dives on air? Why not use a mix gas?

I would really like to know what you get out of it and why you do it. I learned to dive to see the reefs and the life on them. I also like the thought of wrecks especially when they are historical or might contain gold.

So why do you do what you do?

I dive deep air (60-65m), mostly because of the scarcity and expense of helium on my island in Thailand. Of course, our diving is done in great viz, little current and warm water... I wouldn't replicate these dives in temperate or more demanding waters.

I took cave training to improve my wreck skills. Never thought I'd love it like I do. What you see is extremely hard to describe with mere words. It is an experience almost beyond description and that is exactly why many people do it. There is a cleanness, clarity and sense of peace and solitude in cave diving that you never find in the rusty remains of a wreck.