Why can we service our own regulators?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ryan Nelson

Contributor
Reaction score
What's the argument for not allowing the everyday diver to service his/her own regulator?

I have to imagine, though I'm not a lawyer, that if a shop or manufacturer fixed or rebuilt your regulator and then some catastrophe occurred and injury or death was the result it would be very hard to prove that it wasn't user error or lack of upkeep. This would absolve the repair shop of any wrong doing. In the end I'm sure they are not liable.

If the manufacturers don't want the market flooded with user repaired regs I could understand that, but who's to say that everyone who sells one keep up with maintenance. Either way the market will have bad regs in it either from user upkeep or in properly serviced regs. Not every dive shop can fix it right every time.

Diving is not the only high risk sport I participate in and in all others you as a user of equipment are required to maintain it. I like this because I know exactly how my equipment functions and it's strengths and weaknesses and I address them as I see fit.

The construction and operation of regulators are not overly complicated. There are much easier mistakes to make in diving if your not on your toes.

The reason I bring this up is my Atomic reg has been rebuilt twice this year and both times the leaks were attributed to improper installation. The other issue is the $20 in parts and $80 to install.

Thoughts?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk