Which Dive Computer??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

voodoo0ne

Reaction score
I am thinking of getting a computer, want to keep it at around €300 so I am considering:

* Suunto Vyper

* Suunto Mosquito

* Uwatec Aladin Pro Ultra

* Uwatec Aladin Sport Plus

* Regular old Uwatec Aladin Pro!

I know people with the Pro and the Ultra so I suppose I'm looking for comparisons with (and between) the Suuntos!

I'd like one with a PC interface (I'm a Software Engineer!) and Nitrox capability (I don't use it but I may one day!)

SO any advice would be appreciated!

The dealer cost for a battery replacement and recalibration of a Uwatec computer is around $250 and the retail price is around $550, so plan on spending 1/2 to nearly the full price of a new computer, depending on the model, when it is time to replace the battery. Even with a projected battery life of 500 to 1000 dives, that is still a cost of $.50 to $1.00 per dive.

I like my Sherwood Wisdom. Fully air integrated, big numbers on easy to read displays, excellent dive planning and simulator modes, handles deco stops to 70 ft, is nitrox compatible and PC downloadable. The price is also right at around $500-$550. And it has an easily user replaceable battery that will last a full season even with heavy use and costs under $4.00 at Wal-mart.