Squeaky ear when equalizing ( new diver )

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tanika24

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
Hi everyone, I’m Tanika and I’m currently doing my Open Water in Cape Town, South Africa ( my home town ).
I just got on here today so I’m not sure how this all works but I’ve gotten the best diving tips from many people!

As a beginner I have so many questions but today I really want to ask about equalizing. It’s something I’ve been struggling with the most since I started my course. I’ve never had ear problems or problems equalising on land, the struggles came when I started doing my diving course and spending time in the water. Maybe my ears aren’t used to the water or pressure or having to equalise a lot. Usually it just takes me long to descend and my ears are sensitive to the pressure. But I do also struggle with mild allergies. It’s not all the time though and I do make sure I’m fine before diving.
A few days ago I went into the ocean for the first time and while I was equalizing, I heard a loud squeak. It wasnt like this at first but a few minutes into the dive, I’ve never had it and there was no pain. Just a loud squeak each time I’d equalize. What is this???? Usually I don’t hear a squeak when I do it. Was this congestion? Normal? An issue?
Days later now my one ear does feel squeaky/sticky/crackly when I open and close my jaw.

Apologies for typing so much! Any help would be amazing.
Thank you.