Ruby E Photogrammetry Model (including engine room)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

beldridg

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
The Ruby E is a great wreck in San Diego in relatively shallow water (85 fsw to the sand) with a fun and interesting history. I did a few dives to build a photogrammetry model but then also decided to include the engine room and cargo area in the model. It is my first attempt at including interior spaces into a model. I'm still working on the best way to "show" interior spaces.

The post along with photos and a link to the model are at the link below. If you click on the link for the model, you can actually navigate into the engine room and see the dual six cylinder engines!

Here is a direct link to the model:

Below is a screen capture looking into the engine room:

output9b.jpg

Regards,

- brett

WOW this is awesome. The Ruby E was sunk the day I was born and was the first wreck I was able to dive once I got my OW. Thank you for doing this, really cool!

Landon

Very nice work. Can you tell us a little more about the process?
  1. About how many images dives were required?
  2. Are images still or video?
  3. You mentioned difficulty aligning images between dives, is that a common problem? What about images from different cameras and/or on different days?
  4. Is there an option to bring up the images used to generate the model during the editing process?

Hi @beldridg