Question: Ziplock bag style camera housings

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Personally, I wouldn't trust them. I read recently someone just posted about having one flood. One of the inherent issues is the compression of the bag interfering with the operation of the camera, of course the deeper you go. I don't see any way around this.

I have no experience with these housings. My thinking is that they are primarily intended for snorklers or boaters/canoeists/kayakers/rafters who might end up in the water. Any sort of depth and I think the lens won't be able to extend and the buttons will all be compressed.

Here's a link to B&H Photo's page with similar housings:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=NavBar&A=search&Q=&ci=5237

There are a couple of alternatives:

Some disposable film cameras are made for underwater use. Cheap, film based, point and shoot

There are some compact film cameras also made for this purpose. Most of them are good only to 10-12 Ft
(4 m) . Minlota, Canon and Nikon all made a model or two. Finding a used one might be an option.

Depending upon where you are going, there might be some rental equipment available. It might even come with some instruction and review, which could be of immense value if you are totally new to U/W photography.

I can speak from experience with these types of devices. I have had three. One for each of my P&S camera's and one for my video cam. I've never had one leak and I"ve used them for over two years.