Question Re: Fins

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

csevel

Registered
Reaction score
My husband is a 5 yr diver and I'm a newbie (certified in June & no dives yet - we live in Ohio) We're visiting Cozumel in Dec. for the 3rd time and just purchased 3mil shorties. We'll probably always rent equipment due to our inability to dive often; but we'd like to purchase our own fins. What is the consensus on quality since we dive so infrequently? My husband insists we go low-end since we don't dive a lot. When I got certified, I had the opportunity to try out the Mares Volo and noticed a huge difference in maneuverability. Now I'm not trying to be your typical female and spend a lot of cash...I just want to get something that I will be happy with when I'm 100' under and will have some longevity. Anyone out there with suggestions? Thanks.

A couple of suggestons:

Do some reading down in the "Fins" section of this board. Might give you some ideas of the features you are interested in.

Another useful reference tool is scubadiving.com -- while this source is somewhat non-committal about what fins are the "best", it gives you an idea of the brands/models that are currently out there, features to look for, what types of fins work for certain types of divers, etc.
http://www.scubadiving.com/gear/fins.shtml

My $0.02 on the Volos...I've never used them. I've heard a few stories about the fins tearing after a moderate amount of use. Some folks swear by them as being lower effort.