Photographers - I want your input

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JPENDERGRAST

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello,

I'm just getting into scuba diving, but have been snorkeling for quite some time, and am looking to purchase a camera to go with scuba diving. I am (without question) an amateur when it comes to photography, but very intrigued by underwater photography. That said, I would like your input on what camera to buy. I'm looking for something under $500 which would take good pictures, and that I could accesorize when I had extra money (flash, color filters, etc.).

Thanks everyone!

John

Many people new to diving want to take their land based hobby below with them. I know I did. First let me tell you that new divers tend to have a problem holding still (good buoyancy control) long enough to take a good picture. Plus the added tasks of camera management can also frustrate new divers. Taking photographs underwater is not an easy thing, even for good divers. It is also not a cheap hobby. However, many learn fast and take some extraordinary pictures.