PADI Divemaster 800m snorkel

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

A
Realistically, if you can even see someone in the chop from 800 m away, if they're really in trouble, snorkeling there in 20 minutes is likely futile anyway. There's a reason IronMen do this instead of snorkeling:

iu
It is always helpful to argue something from the extreme point of view.

As an instructor I have conducted about 120+ of these 800 yd swim tests…and no one has ever failed them. It is usually the 400 yd swim test that DMCs struggle with and you said you completed that test already.

I think you are over thinking this. Use your favorite mask, snorkel and fins. Jump in, relax, and just do it. Set a nice pace for self. And at the end you should do just fine; you already proved you self if you only need two points after completing the other four water assessments.