Newbie - need advice on Belize trip???

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tootalljones

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am brand new to this sport and will be taking a PADI OW class at the end of June. Then, in September I'll be vacationing in Belize for a week and want to make the most of the diving opportunity. Could you please offfer advice/suggestions as which dives to make and which dives aren't worth making. Also, do you know of any package deals where an outfit will rent the equipment and take me out to multiple dive sites over a few days? I'd appreciate any feedback, thanks.

First of all, welcome to diving. I hope you love it as much as I do. Secondly, which dives to make will depend on the day and time you are there. Book yourself onto a boat and follow the captain and divemaster's recommedations. Since you don't have anything to compare it to, you will not be disappointed.

As for advice, try not to worry about getting everything right, that will come with experience. Also, don't go down there expecting to see a certain species (ie: whale sharks, sharks or someother fabulous large species.) Those things happen every now and then, no guarantees. If you set your heart on seeing something and then don't you will be disappointed. Just enjoy what you do see (and you will see a lot.) Lastly, make the decision to dive before each dive. IE: If you are not comfortable doing any particular dive for whatever reason, don't.

Have fun and tell us about it when you get back.

K