My housing keeps fogging up!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

taylerr

Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am relatively new to underwater photography and in the last couple of dives I have had trouble with my housing fogging up. It generally tends to happen in the last part of my dive (luckily) so I do manage to get a few good photos. Today I put one of those dampness absorber sachets in my housing but it still fogged up.

I have a Canon Powershot s70 and am diving in water that is about 14oC and usually with a flash as well.

Can anyone provide some tips for me to stop this happening.

Thanks in advance

Rebecca

Dive in warmer water. :D

Seriously, you can try submersing your housing in a bucket of similar temperature water prior to the dive. Put it in there as soon as you get on the boat. I don't know if that will help much. I haven't heard of fogging up that far into a dive.

I hadn't had the fogging issue here in Puget Sound USA... but I did have that problem over in Hawaii and I didn't have any moisture absorbent packs with me.

So I put my camera in the housing but left it open and placed it in the freezer for 10 minutes. Opening the freezer I then quickly closed the housing while it was still inside the freezer compartment.

The result was zerp fogging.

Another trick I used was to hold the open housing in front of an air conditioner for a while before closing it.

Uncle Pug:
Another trick I used was to hold the open housing in front of an air conditioner for a while before closing it.