if you find a camera, do you give it back?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

meganm

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi, I was wondering what peoples opinion is about this issue...

I live on Koh Tao, I am an instructor. A DM that I know found a camera floating just off of a dive site. A cheap camera but still a good find. When he and another DM were looking through the photos that were on the SD card they saw that there was a picture of me. Surprised the DM (the one who didn't find it) phoned me to ask me about the camera and if I or anyone that I knew had lost a camera. It turned out that a really good friend of mine had lost his camera that morning and it was clearly his camera that was found floating by the other DM. So excited we went down and asked for the camera back and my friend offered him some money as a reward for finding it.

I thought it was clear cut and that anybody in that situation would just hand the camera back to its owner... Apparently it is not that clear.

What do people think. Should the camera be given back or is it finders keepers?

So the finder asked for a 'finder's fee'? I don't understand from the description of what happened and your question. The finder intiated contact with the owner (via you). Now it is clear that the camera belongs to that person, so IMO it should be given back with a smile.

Personally I'd likely buy the guy a beer for finding the camera, but would be properly pissed if he held the camera to 'ransom'.