How thick for Central Texas winter diving?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dirthead

Contributor
Reaction score
I am a newbie and need your expert advice. I have a 3/2 Bare full wetsuit and a 2.5mil shortie. I want to dive all winter in Central Texas, with a trip to Valhalla in October. The water temp dips to about 55° in winter here, and I think the temp at Valhalla is close to that as well. My lds doesn't carry suits thicker than 3 mil, and advised me to wear my shortie over my 3/2 fullsuit for cold water. That would give me 5.5 mils core body coverage. Is that going to be enough for 55° water??? In 74° water, I was a little chilled with just my 3/2 fullsuit. I am leaning towards calling Larry @ Scubatoys and getting a 7mil suit of some sort (Bare or Oceanic) and a hood, but wanted to get your opinions first.

dirthead:
My lds doesn't carry suits thicker than 3 mil, and advised me to wear my shortie over my 3/2 fullsuit for cold water. That would give me 5.5 mils core body coverage. Is that going to be enough for 55° water??? QUOTE]

In short, nope. You will be better of with a 7 mm wet, or maybe a 5-7 mm semi. Then keep you thin suit for those hot summer days :)