How can I tell if my rig is an upstream regulator?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Whale Whisperer

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I have the Atomic B2 regulator, and I'm wondering if my reg is upstream or downstream design (Hearing unfavorable things about upstream). Looking at the technical specs, Atomic says the first stage is a "Balanced, flow-through piston" and the reg hose is a standard hose.

I'm new to the sport and gear, and my concern is what would happen if this reg fails. Will it cut off my airsupply?

Downstream.
If it fails, it will fail in the open mode and you'll get a free flowing regulator.

the Kraken

The majority of regulators in production today are downstream. Most of the well known compagnies such as Atomic, Apex, Scubapro, Sherwood or Zeagle produce only downstream regulators. The only well known compagny who's reg line up is composed majoritarily of upstream regs is Poseidon.

Falco:
The majority of regulators in production today are downstream. Most of the well known compagnies such as Atomic, Apex, Scubapro, Sherwood or Zeagle produce only downstream regulators. The only well known compagny who's reg line up is composed majoritarily of upstream regs is Poseidon.

I wanted to add that you may occasionally find the odd Oceanic omega reg. and didn't Scubapro produce a servo valve reg. sometime in the 80's? Sherwood sold an early Maximus which was a Poseidon 2nd stage.

Mr.X: