Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pogonotroph

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a beginner diver looking for a "relatively affordable" (<$500) regulator set appropriate for diving in the Puget Sound. I've been looking specifically at Hog, Dive Rite, and Apeks regs but am open to anything that's environmentally sealed, balanced diaphragm, and has a swivel turret first stage. I've gone back and forth between buying new vs used regs.

I've recently come across DGX's deals for these Hollis DC1/212 packages, and they seem much cheaper than any other midrange regulator set out there. Can anyone comment on the quality of these Hollis regs? I've searched previous scubaboard threads but couldn't find much. I'm skeptical as the price seems too good to be true!

I'm also open to any other recommendations or general advice on buying a first reg...

Last edited:
the 212 are plastic tubed 2nds iirc, i would pick something with a metal tube for pnw

the 212 are plastic tubed 2nds iirc, i would pick something with a metal tube for pnw

Good point. Might be a concern for cold water diving. Although I thought icing issues typically are a problem with first stages. I live in Florida where there is no natural ice, so about the only thing I know about ice on the water is it's good for keeping beer and fish cold. :D