Henderson Neoprene vs Goldcore

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mdr231

Reaction score
I'm new to diving and about to buy first wetsuits for my son and myself. We plan to use them in New Jersey and vicinity. I've been advised to buy a 7mm 2-piece suit.

So far, I've tried on Henderson Neoprene, Henderson Goldcore, and a Dacor MetalCore. All 2-piece suits. They cost $200, $450 and $130, respectively. All seem to fit me OK. My son, however, couldn't find a Dacor that fit him. Anyway, I'm trying to figure out exactly what I get for the money.

The Hendersons fit me best (as well as my son) so I'm leaning towards them, but the GoldCore just doesn't seem worth the extra $250 to me. I can get both of our suits in Henderson Neoprene for less than the price of one Goldcore, and the Neoprene felt and fit great, at least in the store :)

So- does anyone have any bad things to say about the regular Henderson neoprene? Why would I want to spend more than twice as much on Goldcore? Also- why is the Dacor so much less money, though it seems to have features similar to Goldcore?
Any other recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Michael