Help with choosing BPW lift

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner diver with around 40 dives over the last year. I've dived enough to understand the importance of owning your own equipment and I am at the moment trying to choose my first BPW. I've read a lot about the subject and the many topics on this forum gave me a world of information that has helped me come to some conclusions. I'm very close to making a decision but would appreciate some insight from more experienced divers.

At the moment I'm very inclined to go with the XDeep Zeos standard. However I am on the fence regarding the lift (28 vs 38). I've read a bit and even played with a fantastic excel spreadsheet I found on these forums that helps calculate necessary wing lift. But I'd like to hear your experience on this. I am 170cm tall and weight about 68kg. I plan to dive 95% of the time single 12L steel tanks, on a 7mm wetsuit, eventually progressing to a dry suit next winter perhaps; I'm choosing the steel backplate. I'm concerned the 28 lbs is cutting it a bit too close. Can anyone provide some experience on this?

A smaller wing is more streamlined. If you’re correctly weighted you don’t need much more than the weight of the variables— gas and SMB+reel — so small is fine. A Halcyon Eclipse 28 pound / 13kg with single tank adapter is great.

In addition to what Wibble said, because you are not diving a drysuit, you need to add the change of buoyancy of your 7mm at depth.

Hello everyone,