Drysuits for women?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kimmer

Reaction score
Hi There!
I am quite new to diving, and will be diving in and around the Pacific North West (Vancouver/Van. Island/Seattle) so will need a dry suit. I am drysuit certified, and did this training in a neoprene drysuit. I want to begin saving for one and would also take suggestions of where to buy. (preferably in Canada, but am open to deals in the US)

I am wondering about the trilaminates vs. neoprene.
Any opinions? Pros & cons?

I have to add that I am short (5'4") and wear size 14/16 in street clothes, but have a large (DD) chest.
Is it a problem to find suits in women's sizes? The ones that I used on the course were too long in the legs and body, and huge in the feet. They also leaked like crazy (since also the seals were too big even when taped) and I got soaked each time. Will I need to buy a custom suit?
Is there anyone who actually takes into account the shape and size of women?
Thanks for any advice you can give!!

Kim :bounce:

I have a DUI TLS350, and it fits me just fine. I am also not so tall - 5'5" (my 6'2" boyfriend calls me a gnome). I think I wear about a 6/8 street clothes, but I too have been "blessed" (yeah, right) with ddd's as well. The top of the suit kinda blouses out, so it fits really well. It's a trilaminate suit, so it's pretty lightweight. I ordered it through my lds, and though it's not a true custom suit, I did have the option of choosing the foot size.