Drysuit newbie here - some questions for medium cold water

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Thanks a lot for all the input. Greatly appreciated.

Just to clarify the "special" lining is removable. In fact it has been separated from the wetsuit soon after the suit was bought and hasn't been used much afterwards. According to the LDS owner the reason for this is that it is too bulky (needs extra lead) and too "hot" for the local conditions.

I forgot to mention that my wife has a sewing machine and she should be able to stitch a one-piece or two-pieces fleece undergarment for me if I am nice(r) to her :)

Few more question as I am trying to manage the finance of all these (to keep my wife happy). Any recommendations for hoods for temperatures around 60-75oF/ 15-20oC ??

And what about fins? For my 300ish (wetsuit) dives so far, I've been using my mares avanti quattro and I am very happy with them. They are practically neutral - very slightly buoyant. Any chance that I will be ok with them with the drysuit or I will definitely need heavy fins??

I have already ordered a neck seal for the suit (it is currently missing) and once I get it I should be able to try it some time next week in the water.

Thanks

I like Waterproof brand hoods. Nice and stretchy.

If your wife can sew, you’re set for undies! :D Separate tops and bottoms would probably work best and be easier to sew. Bottoms that aren’t baggy and fit closer are less bulky.