Diving Nitrox with Computers?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

driebel

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi everyone,

I've been diving for a few years now, but mostly as a "tourist" diver, only on vacations. I'm now looking to get more serious and consistent with my diving, and have therefore just invested in my own gear, including a dive computer (Suunto Vyper). I did my first EANx dive with said computer over the weekend, and I noticed that while diving with nitrox, the computer displays my current depth, max depth, O2 percentage, no decompression time remaining, and running dive time.

My question is, why the max depth and/or O2 percentage displays? To me, while diving with EANx, it would be most useful to have a large reminder on my wrist of the MOD for my mix, rather than say, the actual percentage or the max depth attained during this dive. If I were designing the computer, I would have replaced at least one of those (probably the percentage) with the MOD. My thought is that a note saying "hey dummy, don't go below this depth!" is more useful in real time than a note reminding me what specific percentage I'm diving with.

Can someone more experienced tell me why this is a more useful piece of data?

Cheers,
Dave

Hi everyone,