Did I get ripped off?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kvitense

Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am new to diving. I took a one day resort course last year and got hooked. I recently signed up at a local dive shop to get my PADI open water certification and I just wanted to know if the equipment they sold me was quality stuff as well as whether or not it was a fair value.

The course, EVERYTHING included minus a mask, snorkel, fins, and booties, cost $325. The mask, a Deep See Omni, was $70. The snorkel, an Aqua Lung Impulse 2 Flex, was $50. The fins, Tusa Platinas, were $75 on clearance, and the booties, Deep See 6.5mm thickness Titanium lined "high tops" (or whatever they're called), were $70.

In addition, they deducted $80 from the cost of the course since I purchased my equipment from them. I'd appreciate any feedback on the "deal" I got. Thanks everyone.

Hi kvitense,

Those prices sound about normal retail.... and you got a deal on the discount of the open water course. BUT the snorkel... it's just a tube to breathe through! A lot of divers don't even carry them (although that's a matter of preference and as conditions dictate), but they're required for PADI open water certification. $50 seems excessive. No doubt that's the retail price of the particular snorkel, so I'm not saying you were ripped off, but if you must buy a snorkel, find the cheapest one available. Gimmicks aside, it's just a tube sticking out of your mouth to breath through!

good luck with the course,

Ben