Changing over all my regs, Scubapro questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

50Fathom

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am in the process of changing over my regulators to ones that are GUE-compliant. I work in a shop that sells Scubapro, (and only Scubapro), so I'm going that route. I'm also a Scubapro tech, so that helps.

For logistics, I would like to standardize my kit to all identical 1sts and 2nds, but I'm running into a minor issue.

I'm going with all G250V seconds, (of course), but I am flummoxed about the first stage choice.

I am a diaphragm guy. Period. I like sealed diaphragms and am just not a huge piston fan, though they do work well. So it sounds like I could just go with Mk17s all day and be fine, right?

Well, research on here indicates that for stage bottles, pistons are preferred since they work better when flooded. Also, apparently, the Mk25 has better hose routing options with stages/deco bottles.

Thing is, while I live in TX, cold water diving is something that I will be doing in the future, (our Honeymoon is going to be an Arctic or Antarctic expedition, depending on season, among other cold-water trips.), and I REALLY like that the Mk17 can handle extreme cold and nasty water conditions. MY thinking being: if it can handle the cold and nasty, it DANG sure can handle everything less extreme.