BC under $300 / Weight Issues

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Robustbrad

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Hey all,

I appologize if this has been posted before. I searched and nothing came up.

That being said. The wife gave me the ok to ge a BC that is under $300 (need to take advantage of this, does not happen to often)! I'm new to diving just getting my OW certification over the past weekend and want to start gearing up (I have all my personal equipment already).

Problem is that I am about 40 pounds over my "normal weight" and am in the process of shedding it off. The only problem is that I have the tendancy to gain it back then lose it again .... annoying. So my question is should I wait until I get to my "normal" weight to buy a BC or are BC's in general adjustible to compensate for weight changes?

Looking for a BC that travels well, since we will be doing most of our diving on trips abroad or on the east cost of the united states (which we would be flying to). Also looking for a BC with a good amount of d-rings, pockets for the extras we'll be carrying.

Thanks so much for the help,
Brad

Thanks for the reply. Any recommendations for weight integrated bc's?

Thanks for the reply. Any recommendations for weight integrated bc's?

Nope, I believe in a belt, sorry. Besides, you said you wanted to drop 40 pounds, mess with the "Deluxe" model after that is accomplished.

Scan scubatoys, they may have the weight integrated version of the Caribe, forget what it is called.