DIR- Generic Age and Demanding Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hello,

I just finished my fundies with a provisional a couple of weeks ago. For background purposes, I have been diving for around five years now and have progressed up to the deco pro level at TDI. Needless to say, the provisional was a bit of a disappointment. While I knew I was no elite diver, I expected at least a rec pass out of the course.

Despite that, I tremendously enjoyed the course and have made it my mission to complete and obtain my rec and tec passes. Seeing the quality of GUE instruction and course material firsthand, I am also interested in continuing further up the GUE tec stream especially as it relates to CCR.

That said, I am 38 years old and fundies was very demanding physically. I am in relatively good physical shape (keen runner at least), but I wonder if I have many years of physical capacity left to learn and do such demanding tec diving and training. I guess I’m looking for some inspiration from people who started their fundies in their late 30s or older and progressed up the GUE stream of courses. Would appreciate the encouragement (or alternatively, reality check!) from people who have been down that path before.

Cheers to all:)

Hello,