Accidental 100% O2 in non O2 clean regs - real risk?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

miketsp

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Although I've been diving EAN now for over 10 years, over the last 24 months in order to analyse tanks I've hooked up my reg set (with my analyser attached to BC hose) to quite a few tanks partially filled with 100% O2. The tanks had been partially filled with O2 but the compressor operator had then failed to top off with air. I'm seeing this mistake becoming very common at various operators and various sites - probably due to EAN becoming more widely available.

I assume that there have not been any serious consequences because the tank pressure would normally be low - even for a target mix of 40% the undiluted initial O2 would only correspond to the tank at about 1/4 pressure.

But it does raise a couple of questions:

Is there any risk of putting 100% O2 at 50 bar into a non-O2 prepared/clean reg set?

By repeatedly doing this is there any risk of causing premature failure of o-rings or other parts during a dive?

Does it justify only using the type of analyser that you hold directly against the cylinder valve - eliminating the need to hook the regs up to an unknown cylinder - although personally I've always found found this type of analyser a pain to use, slower to stabilize and less accurate?

If you're going to be doing it like that, I think it would behoove you to make sure your reg is cleaned and assembled with o2 compatible components and lubrication.