1 tank over within 36 minutes

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Neverland

Registered
Reaction score
Dear All,

I'm a beginner scuba diver had only a few dives behind me around 20meters deep. My problem is that my full tank was enough only for 36 minutes, but for all the others the air was enough for about 1 hour. Can you help me to say why can this happen?

Many tks for the reply

Dear All,

I'm a beginner scuba diver had only a few dives behind me around 20meters deep. My problem is that my full tank was enough only for 36 minutes, but for all the others the air was enough for about 1 hour. Can you help me to say why can this happen?

Many tks for the reply

This is pretty normal for a new diver. A lot of it also depends on your build type, large or small, in shape or out of shape, etc. People with larger frames, biger lung volumes tend to use lots of air. This isn't always a hard rule, I know people much larger than me who are better or worse on air consumption.

Your air consumption will gradually improve as you gain more experience and become more comfortable in the water.

One thing is to make sure you're properly weighted, this will keep you for having to constantly add air to your BC. Also if you're over-weighted you be constantly swimming/kicking which will cause you to use more air. Try to remain neutral, if you have to constantly kick to stay off the bottom, add a bit more air to your BC.