When does it start to make sense

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

otterdive

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Hi everybody, it's my first time to this section of the forum. I run a small, but rapidly growing dive school, serving children's summer camps in the northeast. I currently work with a local dive shop for fills. They are fantastic, and they give me a very good price per fill. I am considering buying a compressor, but I need to know a bit about the magic point at which that makes sense.

I currently own 18 AL 80s. I use about 5 tanks per day, throughout the summer. Within the next summer or two, I'll probably be using about 10 tanks per day during the summer. Virtually no fills during the rest of the year. The local dive shop is about 45 minutes away. They bank air and can fill all my tanks in about an hour, so that's about a 3 hour turn around, once every couple of days. I have been doing all the teaching, and schlepping myself. This next summer I'll have a divemaster who can help drive, or fill if I buy a compressor.

So, what do you guys suggest? I have just started to think about this, so any ideas would be very helpful. I'll research any suggestions you guys make. Models, capacities, prices, maintenance costs, etc.

Thanks!

Last edited: