What type of socks?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Winterpeg

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am fairly new to diving. I have had bad blisters in the past from ill-fitting borrowed full-foot fins. Last dive trip I bought neoprene booties. They are much better but after several dives I still got a bit of chafing along my heels where the seams run along.
I am planning 2 weeks in Cozumel in Feb :)D) and want to get something to line my boots with to prevent chafing. The boots fit quite well - close but not snug - so I will not have room for anything thick inside them. I just want something smooth, close-fitting and friction-free.
I have searched SB and found recommendations for neoprene socks, lycra socks, cotton socks, and even dress socks.:confused: Any suggestions as to which type or brand would be the best for my situation?
Thanks

I'd probably just use some polypro sock liners. Cheap, thin, should eliminate the chafing, easy to launder. I'd avoid cotton. Too clammy.

I'm a big fan of Henderson's Polyolefin Hot Socks. I wear them with my full-foot fins and they do a great job of preventing chafing and development of blisters. Some folks like them under their booties in colder water as well.