What training is required to become a PSD?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BMETdiver

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello,
I am still new to the sport so I know I will have a long way to go. Currently I am still OW but plan on getting AOW, Nitrox, Rescue, Deep and working my way up. At the same time I would be interested in diving as a career after I complete 20 in the military. If any one can explain what the best course of action to get to that level is probably over the next 5-10 years. I would appreciate it. Thanks Lee

What training ought to be required?
We could discuss that.
As for what training is required, that is as varied as there are PSD outfits across the country, and varies from "warm & breathing" to some very detailed and relevant requirements.
IOW you need to check with your local PSD organization to see what they require.
Rick

Rick Murchison:
What training ought to be required?
We could discuss that.
As for what training is required, that is as varied as there are PSD outfits across the country, and varies from "warm & breathing" to some very detailed and relevant requirements.
IOW you need to check with your local PSD organization to see what they require.
Rick

Ok what training would be recommended, being military I will be moving at least the next 10 years and figure once I am properly trained or at least competent I would look at the volunteer route to see if I am really interested.

My "Absolute Minimum" set of skills would include
Underwater Navigation