what regulator to purchase?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Caleb.h

New
Reaction score
hey guys
im new to both scubaboard and diving so please excuse me if i go about asking questions the wrong way.

im looking to purchase a regulator and im not very well educated on good brands/styles were to find them well priced and all that.
any help and personal exp anyone can give me will be much appreciated :)

thanks heaps

there is soooo much to choose from and different shops will carry different brands. Scubapro, Atomic, Aqualung, Hog, Mares, Diverite all make great products. My advice is that a regulator is fundamental life support equipment so I would suggest buying the best one you can afford. To a large extent, you get what you pay for.

As long as you don't mind paying for free parts up front based on service intervals you probably don't need to do. The truth is that any reg will work. For the vast majority of recreational divers any reg will work well. There is no need to break the bank on a reg. I ask customers what type of diving they are doing, what they want to do, and what their budget is. I will not even suggest a 900 dollar titanium set when a 250 dollar warm water reg will do. The truth is that most divers could not tell the difference anyway. Don't buy the most expensive one you can. Buy the one that will work for you and your budget. Rarely is that an expensive one. Spend the money you save on diving more.