Using a pony when traveling

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Aaron528

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I use a pony bottle for local diving but so far I haven't taken it on a plane for travel diving. I use a pony tamer but that's out for travel because it has to be attached to the tanks. That would mean using the bag/cam belt system I used to use. When my wife is diving with me having a reliable buddy is a non-issue and I feel ok diving without a pony, but I've had some really negative experiences with "insta buddies" in the Caribbean and Florida so if I travel solo again I'd really prefer to have a pony in spite of the hassle. I'm curious what other divers do.

I use a pony bottle for local diving but so far I haven't taken it on a plane for travel diving. I use a pony tamer but that's out for travel because it has to be attached to the tanks. That would mean using the bag/cam belt system I used to use. When my wife is diving with me having a reliable buddy is a non-issue and I feel ok diving without a pony, but I've had some really negative experiences with "insta buddies" in the Caribbean and Florida so if I travel solo again I'd really prefer to have a pony in spite of the hassle. I'm curious what other divers do.

I have had the same question. I love slinging a pony bottle while diving locally but I have not found a way to do so while diving internationally. I could always rent one when diving in Cozumel, but I have not gone to the trouble to do so as of yet.