Used Alum 80s filled with Nitrox

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ktgould

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I purchased two used Alum 80s - hydros good till 2013. Unfortunately they are filled with Nitrox (newbie here, so I can't use). is there anything special that needs to be done berfore filling them with air, short of emptying them?

If you are not going to be using nitrox, peel off the ugly green labels when you empty the tanks and only bleed them down to 100psi to avoid a visual.

If you leave the labels on, you always have the potential for someone to fill it with nitrox without you knowing it. Since you dive air, you are not analyzing it and you would never realize what happened. Could be a problem if you then dive deep.

If you are not going to be using nitrox, peel off the ugly green labels when you empty the tanks and only bleed them down to 100psi to avoid a visual.

If you leave the labels on, you always have the potential for someone to fill it with nitrox without you knowing it. Since you dive air, you are not analyzing it and you would never realize what happened. Could be a problem if you then dive deep.

FANTASTIC advice! THANK YOU!

Query -- why would someone fill the tanks with "Nitrox" unless a mix was specified? What shop would just do "a fill" without knowing what was wanted?

Peter, i hear you

but many shops have a Nitrox "standard" (i.e. 32) which they bank and use unless otherwise specified

unlikely to happen, true ... but you never know