Travel BCD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DreadnoughtNH

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hello folks! I know this topic comes up frequently, but I figured what the hell, I'll be *that* guy and pose it.

I've now been diving 2 years, and have about 100 dives and I'm still learning with every trip. I'm in no way an "expert" diver. I also know that newer gear does not make me a better diver. :)

Soon after my OWC, I "geared up" and purchased an Aqualung Dimension I3. My feeling was then, get gear that is *mine* that I can get comfortable with no matter where I am on the planet.

Two years on, I still feel it is a great BC, I particularly like the feel of the side toggle for quick inflate/deflate corrections. Overall, however, it has proven not to be the easiest to travel with (bulky and heavy). And although I live in seacoast NH, I am not interested in cold water diving, so the I3 has capability that I think is just wasted on me....

Me: 6'2", 250#, athletic build.
Diving: Warm water exclusively (>72F), from liveaboard or day-dive boat. 3mm suit, shorty, or less.
Gear: torch, whistle, sausage, reel.

I'm now AOW and nitrox certed. My buoyancy control and comfort in the water is overall good, but air consumption is still a work in progress (greedy oxygen needy muscles).

Because the lion's share of my diving is in a <3mm suit and requires a plane to get to, I'm considering trading out my I3 for something more appropriate for travel and the type of diving I'm actually doing. I've been considering: