Training in your own gear

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jtpwils

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I'm a newb looking at equipment and trying to make a decision on whether to buy or not from a slightly different viewpoint from what I've read about before.

I've read many comments that suggest try before you buy, ask opinions, you'll upgrade purchases from console to wrist, jacket to wing, the more you own - the more you'll dive and vice versa and all of those are good things to consider.

The one thing I haven't seen discussed so much is this - will owning my own gear from the start (assuming I make reasonably well informed, smart purchases) help me to improve my diving skills faster or enjoy it more because I am familiar with the gear and thus make my diving experience more repetative and comfortable?

In other words, will adjusting to a different BC and it's inherent differences in terms of air volume/expansion, total weight and weight placement requirements, and different guages, etc. make learning to dive well much harder or less enjoyable?

It seems to me that if I were learning to drive, I'd rather have my own equipment and do that in the same car rather than take a sedan on one trip, an SUV on another, etc. Heck, I can drive well and I still hate figuring out where the wipers, lights, etc. are in different cars I rent.

Same question as it applies to a younger student.
TYVM,
Jim