Tingling & Itchy Hands

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Santorini

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am new to diving (certified 10/1/06). We just returned from a dive trip to Curacao where we did 13 dives in 5 days. The deepest I went was 71 feet (briefly). I did the required safety stop at each dive. I waited 38 hours before flying home. Once home I noticed a "pins and needles" feeling in both hands. That feeling has lessened but now both hands itch. Anybody got any ideas? If this is a skin hit, what happens on my next dive?
Thanks

Edit: Okay, DrDeco has posted this morning, good. I'm going to remove my comments.

Hello Santorini:

Your problem is probably not related to decompression sickness because of the long dive-symptom interval and the fact that you do not state that it appeared, or became worse, on the flight home (low aircraft cabin pressure).

These problems might be related to some aspect of diving such as a pinched nerve from straps or hauling dive gear.

Dr Deco :doctor:

Santorini:
I am new to diving (certified 10/1/06). We just returned from a dive trip to Curacao where we did 13 dives in 5 days. The deepest I went was 71 feet (briefly). I did the required safety stop at each dive. I waited 38 hours before flying home. Once home I noticed a "pins and needles" feeling in both hands. That feeling has lessened but now both hands itch. Anybody got any ideas? If this is a skin hit, what happens on my next dive?
Thanks