Texan traveling to LA, wanting to Dive

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

chadhender

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I will be in the Long Beach area for work in October and IM wanting to dive. I will arrive on the Oct. 16th and want to dive the 17th and 18th. I have always heard catilina island was good but I will take your suggestions. Whats a good boat to go out on? Also I would love to have a local buddy if anyone has time. (Ive been diving for 14 years and Im an active Padi DM) Thanks!

Chad

I work in LA 1 week every couple of months and use the weekends for diving. I tend to dive the Great Escape, the slip is in Long Beach next to the Bottom Scratcher (another option). If neither of those work, there are some out of San Pedro which is very close. Basically any diving in Catalina or the Channel Islands is really nice. They start complaining when vis drops below 30 feet. It is usually not an issue to find a buddy on the boat.

I often use Sports Chalet to rent gear. As a dive op, it is not the best, but their liberal rental policy lets you pick up tanks and weights the day before and return the day after renting. Add that to their late hours and its hard to beat.

howdy, Chad. A buddy and I are looking to jump on a boat the 17th... my two favorite out of Long Beach (G.E. & Sundiver) are both on a multi-day charter that weekend but the Bottom Scratcher (good option) is open. Check out link for most California boats for options here:
California Dive Boats : The Official Page