Swimming/ diving with sharks

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DanPHudson

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Has anyone heard any info on the 7 foot hammerhead pulled in off Sharkey's Pier at venice beach? I'm relatively new to diving (under 50 dives) and have never dove or swam with sharks. How often are we diving with sharks and not even aware of it?

Sharks don't eat scuba divers, just swimmers, surfers, and spear fishers. :D Of course they eat ohter fish too.

DanPHudson:
Has anyone heard any info on the 7 foot hammerhead pulled in off Sharkey's Pier at venice beach? I'm relatively new to diving (under 50 dives) and have never dove or swam with sharks. How often are we diving with sharks and not even aware of it?

All the time.

This was the last we saw of this poor bugger.

http://www.scubaboard.com/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/49056/cat/1631

Just kidding, it swam by to see if he had any food. He didn't so it left.

Count yourself lucky if you get to see a shark in open water.

I heard a statistic once and I can't remember exactly, but it was like every time you are in the ocean, you have a shark within 100 ft....or something like that....

I've had a couple of close encounters with nurse sharks. They're not aggressive at all, and seem very uninterested in our kind.. From my experience, there's only 1 or two people who get to see a shark from a dive boat because usually they see the shark, and the shark runs away.