Suicide Clips

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mr Monkey

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm new to diving and have read about suicide clips on a few forums. I don't like the sound of these!

Could anyone explain what these are and why they are named such.

Thanks

It is a nickname given for any type of clip that can open/attach to line or objects without the diver's specific intention.
For example, gate-type carabiner and certain spring-shackles.

attachment.php

If the attachment is able to latch things (especially lines) without the diver's intention, then it poses a more severe risk of entanglement hazard. This is particularly a risk when diving inside wrecks or caves - where the diver is in cramped/confined areas, often in bad visibility, and laying a guideline.

suicide_clips.jpg

Suicide-type clips have been mentioned in accident reports as contributing factors to entanglement diving fatalities in caves/wrecks. For that reason, many experienced divers make a rule to avoid 'suicide' clips and use bolt-snap type attachments as a rule.

Suicide Clip
210133_oz.jpg

Non-Suicide Clip
2.jpg

The other problem is that they can also undo by themselves. If they double-up over the line they are connected to they can unclip themselves. This is more dangerous in my view.

Mr Monkey,
Don't use it for diving but it can come in handy in a garage for example.