Soon-to-be certified diver looking for a dive team

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

medic_diver45

Contributor
Reaction score
Hello All,
My name's Steve and I am a respiratory therapist by profession and a volunteer firefighter/Intermediate EMT currently stuck in the wasteland that is Indiana. I am trying to figure out where to go once my fiancee graduates from college in May, and I was hoping some of you all might have some suggestions for me:

Some of the stipulations would be:
1. A dive team that isn't run exclusively by the state police and/or DNR (as is the case here in IN- they take 2-4 hrs to show up and then they complain about never finding a live one; the one save we have had in recent years was from another firefighter and I arrived on the scene and pulled a woman from a submerged car- actually he got her out and I just help tow her to shore); this criterion is why I posted on here

2. A 4 year college nearby/within decent driving distance (30-40 minutes) (I need to finish my degree)

3. Volunteer fire department and/or ambulance service

4. Not going to cost an arm and a leg to live (I would be great to work with an awesome dive team and have beautiful water to dive in, but if it's gonna cost $600+ a month just for rent it's not feasible.)