sling bottles...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sharky001

Registered
Reaction score
I'm curious, what are people generally using for sling/stage bottles: steel or Al? Does it really matter? I currently dive with OMS/Faber LP steels and would prefer to use LP steel for sling bottles. I use a drysuit and Halcyon wing with s/s backplate. I don't want to turn this into a debate about steel vs. Al, but what are people using and why.

Thank you everyone!

I have been diving with stage bottles for almost 15 years now. If a bottle exists I have probably dived with it. That said I standardized on the following.

Luxfer Alum 80 - good cylinder size for dives requireing decompression stops 70 fsw and deeper. It floats nice under the arm and is positive when empty which makes it easy to pass off and handle underwater.

Luxfer Alum 63 -- this is my favorite for nitrox 50/50 it gives me and hours worth of deco gas with reserve. It's compact and neutral when empty.

Luxfer Alum 40 --- standard short deco bottle and standard for oxygen. They are slim, easy to carry and balance well when stacking multiple gases.

I dont use steel stage bottles as they are to heavy and poorly balanced when carrying two on one side.

Regards,

I'd say 90% of people using sling bottles use aluminum. They swing nicely from positive to negative so that the end of the tank rides under your arm, and like JS1 said, they don't pull you off-trim as bad as steels. Also, a steel is a lot more expensive than aluminum.

teknitroxdiver: