Skydiver wanting to turn to Scuba Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ruaanfs

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi people

Newbie here. My name is Ruaan and I am from South Africa.

I want to try out scuba diving on a recreational level. I am actually more of a trill seeker and I am a skydiver but since I messed up my shoulder I am thinking of leaving skydiving before I hurt myself more. Now I never Scuba dived before but I think its something else. I personally don't think I will get the rush from it as I got from skydiving but the idea of seeing a whole new world intrigues me.

So yes that is my story and hopefully I will learn a lot from the more experienced divers on the forum

Decades ago, before I met my wife, I had a lady friend who was an ex-skydiver. She quit when she broke her back landing wrong. Thereafter, whenever she met up with her skydiving friends, one of their topics of conversation was catching up on who else they knew who had died skydiving.

I think you'll find a different kind of rush with scuba. Give it some time, get some solid skills and experience, travel to some world class dive spots. And I think your odds of doing it for the rest of your (long) life are much higher in scuba than skydiving. :wink:

The thrill is going to be different.

You can "fly", weightless for an hour or so at a time, over the reef like an underwater bird. A lot of "thrill" in that, but not the adrenalin rush you must be used to, steping out into the open air, and dropping weightless toward the earth below.