Size of Doubles

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Captain Ron

Reaction score
I'm just getting into Tech. Are the twin Faber LP85s I just purchased going to be enough for begining DECO? Too much? Should I go bigger? Smaller? My air consumption, I have found is below avarage for sport divers. Is there a baseline for air consumption that will help figure this all out. Have also purchased DR/Transpac with SS back plate. Do I go ditchable or non-ditchable weights. Thanks

Captain Ron:
I'm just getting into Tech. Are the twin Faber LP85s I just purchased going to be enough for begining DECO? Too much? Should I go bigger? Smaller? My air consumption, I have found is below avarage for sport divers. Is there a baseline for air consumption that will help figure this all out. Have also purchased DR/Transpac with SS back plate. Do I go ditchable or non-ditchable weights. Thanks

The best way is for you to work it out yourself. Estimate your max depth and desired time, add some contingency - whether it be 1/3rds, rock bottom, etc then multiply by your SAC and thats your gas requirements. Also remember that you will usually be carrying deco gas seperately so you can calculate that and size your deco cylinder(s) accordingly (note to pendants: let's just forget about lost deco gas for now, okay?)

My SAC is a little above average (around 20L/min and I plan for 25L/min). I wear twin 12's, so for a 40m dive (for example), I'll be lucky to get 35-40min bottom time on a square profile.