ScubaPro

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jafo123

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I just bought a new ScubaPro 650 with a MK 2 plus first stage. Anyone using one of these? I'll be diving with it for the first time tonight in the pool for my drysuite training and was just wondering what to expect out of it. I'm a newbie and is only the second set I have ever bought the first set I had I purchased used. I'm also not a tech. junky so not real sure of what I was reading in the manual.

Jafo

I’m kinda surprised that you bought a top-of-the-line 2nd stage but have paired it with a respectable but, IMHO, rental grade 1st stage. There’s alot of information on this board re the X650, which is usually paired with the MK25 1st stage, (early X650s had some problems when it first came out) if you do a search. Here’s one but there are many others:

http://www.scubaboard.com/showthread.php?t=42931&highlight=X650

DA Aquamaster is the Scubapro expert on this board—you could also try to get his opinion by PM.

Agree, the MK2 is a bullit proof little unit, but not much to grow on. Newer 650's are a pretty good choice for a 2nd and paired with the superior MK25 can deliver impressive performance. But all in all you bought a quality set up im sure youll be happy with, and you can always move up to the 25 as time and $ permits. Congrats!
Dave.