RELOCATING: Cali 2 Oahu... is it the right move?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Aquanaut Jay

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
So heres the deal...My wife and are are living in Norther Cali's Bay Area currently. She has worked in the real estate field for the last 11 years :shakehead::shakehead: and I am a commercial truck driver :shocked: So needles to point out, in the current countries situation both industries are :klo: in the toilet. We have decided that cold water sucks and that we want to change careers mid life :rofl3: So we have decided we want to move to Hawaii and pursue a scuba career based purely on passion not thoughts of $gettin rich in paradise$. This is not a whim or spur of the moment desicion. We have thought out, researched and discussed this in great detail for many months now. We have decided on Oahu because of the other opportunities it has to offer as "plan B" in regards to our respective industries. We hope and plan to work at a LDS and hopefully work on some day tripper boats or live aboards or anything that has us sleeping,dreaming,walking,talking scuba.

So what we would like to know is ANYTHING you have to say about this. I would especially like to hear from the people that were once in my shoes. The ones who made the move to our 50th state. We will be there for 2 weeks 8/13/08~ 8/26/08 for our yearly wedding anniversary trip to sorta kick the tires and look under the hood. But what I want to hear is the good and the bad about things like...